Sunday, September 19, 2010

My NFL predictions for the year

So I've just been too busy/lazy to post this all. I'm going by what I predicted going into the year. You're just gonna have to trust me on this one.

NFC East
1) Dallas - I have the Cowboys starting slow out of the gates but then putting things together and having this year's unstoppable offense with Romo spreading it round to a ton of different targets and Austin having another great year. I have Dallas getting 12 or 13 wins and home field in the playoffs and a chance to host the Super Bowl. Just enough momentum for everyone to be absolutely stunned when MVP Romo blows it in the NFC title game and the Boys go home early.
2) Washington - One of my real sleeper teams this year. I see McNabb and Portis with good bounceback years and a very underrated defense. I got em for 10 or 11 wins and a definite wild card spot before a tough playoff out. Probably McNabb leads them to a week 1 road victory over some sucky NFC West team.
3) NY Giants - A bit underrated and a definite playoff contender. Both the run game and the defense should bounce back and this team will be in it to the finish line. I have them outlasting the Vikings and Saints (spoiler alert?) for my final playoff spot.
4) Philly - Absolute implosion. I didnt pick any Eagles on any fantasy teams this year, I think Kolb is going to be a complete fraud, and I think this team is going to blow up in a bad way. Could they take Reid down with them?

NFC North
1) Green Bay - I'm not as high on them as everyone else, but I do think their offense is very good and I think it's actually better with BJax than Grant since he fits their style better. I have him in every league and think he could be this year's out of nowhere top 10 RB. Finley could threaten the #1 TE spot as well. But I'm not sure the defense is stout enough in the end. 11ish wins and an easy division title.
2) Minnesota - Not buying in this year. The schedule sucks with a guaranteed week 1 loss in New Orleans, hopefully two home wins after that before the worst early bye possible (w Favre), then four awful games on the schedule. I have them starting 2-5 and hopefully taking down Childress midseason, then reeling off a five game win streak behind a Peterson explosion and some receivers getting back into the game, then a Favre choke job to cost us the playoffs week 17 against the Lions. Yep, that's about how I feel about all of this. Let's move on.
3) Chicago - Could easily finish higher than Minnesota, both teams right around .500. Underrated, defense will be much better with Harris and Urlacher healthy, and Cutler will post gross stats. But Cutler will also cost them a few wins, too many to compete for anything.
4) Detroit - I admit I actually had Detroit improving to 5-6 wins this year and liked them as a potential 2011 sleeper. I like what I've seen so far in their fight, and they should be 1-0 if not for one of the worst calls I've ever seen. But it's not happening with Shaun Hill.

NFC South
1) Atlanta - This is my big sleeper for the year, same division as my big sleeper last year who you might have heard of, the New Orleans Saints. I know I'm breaking the streak of 4th place division finishers winning the next year, but I just think the Falcons put it all together this year. Matt Ryan reminds people that they thought he was a young Peyton a year ago, the offense rolls, and the defense is much improved. Falcons rumble to 12+ victories and are my NFC Super Bowl pick.
2) New Orleans - Last year was special. This year will not be. Also while I'm here, can we all stop pretending Brees is the best QB? Maybe Sean Payton is the best offensive coordinator set-up. I'm fine with that. I have the Saints going like 8-9 wins in a nondescript Super Bowl defense. Unless the Madden curse strikes, in which case they're screwed.
3) Carolina - I don't really have anything to say about this team
4) Tampa Bay - Or this team.

NFC West
1) San Francisco - This entire division is awful. I'm not a believer in Alex Smith. But Gore and the defense, yes, and mostly in an AWFUL division. And I'd STILL pick SF even after the week 1 implosion.
2) Seattle - By default. I really don't even have more to add than that. I hope Justin Forsett gets more touches than they're projecting. And Golden Tate too.
4t) Arizona and St Louis - If I could project both teams to go 0-14-2 with their only non-losses against each other, I would do it. THIS DIVISION IS SO BAD. I have Arizona completely and totally falling apart this year, along with Fitzgerald falling out of the top 10 WRs, though I like him better with Derek Anderson. And that's how bad the Cards' situation really is.

AFC East
1) New England - By default, really, not because I love them. The defense is in serious serious trouble. But Brady et al should post plenty of points and they'll win one more lackluster division since I don't like the other teams. 10 boring wins and a quiet playoff exit.
2) Miami - Miami is just a fiesty team, not great, not bad, a nice 7-8 win team that I don't care enough about to say more.
3) NY Jets - Not a believer. I AM a believer in Shonn Greene, though he could hardly have been worse last week. I have him in my top 5 fantasy RBs. *gulp* But much as I love Ryan's bravado, I do not believe at all in Sanchez and I think the defense is a bit overrated. Due for a letdown. It's the J-E-T-S after all.
4) Buffalo - Remember when the Bills had Steve Tasker in the 90s? How was a guy so good that he is nationally known as a special teams player, but not good enough to have ever done more than that?

AFC North
1) Pittsburgh - Not sure if they really count as a sleeper, but they didn't make the playoffs last year and I have them easily getting there this year and, brace yourself JJ, winning it all. I can't really figure out why other than it just feels right. Mendenhall is the real deal, and I absolutely love the defense especially with Polamalu healthy. I think Big Ben is going to come back strong as well. I'm not confident in them winning the SB but it's the best team in the AFC to me and they'd beat Atlanta there.
2) Baltimore - Definitely not a believer, at least nowhere near as much as the masses. Flacco sucks and always will. Ray Rice is a beast though, and this defense is also wayyy overrated but still very good. Too talented of a team to miss the playoffs all together, and not an easy out, but way overrated.
3) Cincinnati - I expect big things out of this passing game and have TO in my top 5 WRs, but the team is going to fall apart after a dream year. My sleeper last year, but not this one.
4) Cleveland - Daylight come and Lebron'll Delhomme?

AFC South
1) Indianapolis - I refuse to pick against the Colts until they stop winning 12 games a year. I believe in this team a little less each year, but I won't pick against Peyton.
2) Jacksonville - I decided I needed an AFC sleeper and for some reason I picked the Jags. I like their offensive line, and I like Garrard and MJD and Del Rio. I could not be less confident in this pick but whatever. Rough division. I'll take the Jags for 9 wins and an ugly wildcard loss.
3) Houston - I'm done picking them as my sleeper. Note: the last time this happened, it was after like 5 years of picking the Cards and they came within about 30 seconds of winning the Super Bowl.
4) Tennessee - Not a 4th place team, but someone has to be in this division. I love Jeff Fisher and Vince Young. I have Chris Johnson finishing outside the top 10 RBs but feel pretty silly about that through two weeks of highlights so far, but we'll see if he stays healthy. Don't like his chances.

AFC West
1) San Diego - Not a believer but too much talent even without some of the missing pieces to not win this watered down division. Man, the west is awful. I'm gonna be taking a lot of Sunday afternoon naps this fall.
2) Kansas City - I really really wanted to talk myself into the Chiefs as my sleeper and a division winner here. I settled for picking them to beat the Chargers week 1. I think Jamaal Charles could explode, if the coaches remembered they have him, that is. Go Andy Studebaker!!
3) Oakland - I also tried to talk myself into this team. Campbell is an improvement and the defense is underrated. But it's the Raiders, alas.
4) Denver - I did not try to talk myself into them. Josh McDaniels is an absolute idiot. Man he is burying this franchise.

THE END

No comments:

Post a Comment